National English Honor Society

Members of this organization endeavor to advance the study of all areas of English and to foster a spirit of fellowship among students excelling in all facets of the English language arts, ever keeping in mind the national motto “Duty goes with honor.”

Moderator: Mrs. Virginia Becker




  • 90% or higher in senior level AP English
  • 90% or higher in junior level honors or AP English
  • 100 completed STA service hours
  • no disciplinary or attendance issues


  • 90% or higher in junior level AP English
  • 90% or higher in sophomore level honors English
  • 75 completed STA service hours
  • no disciplinary or attendance issues

Those students who meet these qualifications will be invited to apply. The application will include a well-written, topic-driven essay, reviewed by a faculty committee.

* A one-time membership fee will be assessed at the time of induction.

To sustain membership, members must maintain the semester A average and complete a minimum of five service hours as well as participate in NEHS activities and meetings. Each member will enter at least one essay contest, provided on our NEHS Blackboard account.

Officers 2018-19:

President - Allison Peart and Jason Cohen
Vice Presicent - Julia Ferreira & Catherine Martinez
VP/ Literary Magazine - Skylar Hooley and Samual Rincon
Technical VP/Literary Magazine - Camille Jastrzebski and Mayumi Porto

Editorial Board - Daniel DeUrbina, Kaia Fazio, Erin Kelly, Alexandra Klis, Catherine Martinez, Sydney Patitucci, Allison Peart, Sophia Sadaka, John Sharkey, Alexa Vargas

VP/Book Club - Lauren Rosenthal and Isabella Klar

VP /Scholarships and Essay Contests- Kailey Nolan and Erin Grilliot

VP/Technology - Jake San Augustin and Nick Soviero

VP/Public Relations - Alexandra Klis and Daniel DeUrbina

Secretary - Adriana Guzman and Emily Martinez

Treasurer- Alexandra Torti and Nico Winter

Director of Community Service - Gabriel Pacchiele and Jacqueline Weider